Inventory adjustments are increases, decreases, and revaluations made in inventory to account for theft, loss, breakages, and errors in the amount or number of items received.
RepairDesk doesn’t let you enter a transaction if your inventory item's quantity or value falls below zero. You may need to make an adjustment in this situation. Additionally, you may need to adjust inventory following an inventory count.
Click to know How to add inventory item.
If you want to add inventory or decrease inventory you need to follow these simple steps:
Go to Home > Manage Inventory > Product
Click on three dots icon and select Add Stock.
Alternatively, click On-Hand or Unit Cost field to open the adjustment window.
Choose the adjustment type: Increase Stock, Decrease Stock, or Revalue Cost.
Select Increase Stock. Enter the quantity and cost price. Notes are optional.
Click Review Adjustment to verify, then Post Adjustment.
Use when items are lost or broken. Cost will be auto-applied based on selected valuation method (e.g., LIFO). Notes are optional.
Click Review Adjustment then Post or go back.
Use when you need to change the cost of all units of an item. Only cost can be added, applicable across all valuation methods.
Click Review Adjustment, then Post Adjustment or Go Back.
Note: In case of inventory count, adjustments will be automatically posted. See inventory count guide.
Reports > Inventory Adjustment Report
Click View to inquire details.
By default, no.
The system automatically blocks sales of out-of-stock items. However, you can adjust your settings if you need to allow negative inventory.
How It Works:
Default Setting (Disabled): The "Allow Keeping Negative On-hand Stock" rule is turned off by default. The system will block any transaction involving an out-of-stock item until the inventory is updated.
Allowing Negative Stock (Enabled): When turned on, the system will display an warning alert, but will allow you to select "Proceed Anyway" to complete the sale without updating stock.
How to Change This Setting:
Go to Settings > Inventory Configuration.
Scroll to the Rules & Permissions section.